Stanford University

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion


DEI Councils


The Stanford Earth DEI Councils are established as a platform for advocacy and partnership-building to address and strengthen Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in the Stanford Earth School community.

The Councils consist of two related entities — the Advisory and the Governance Council, each one fulfilling different functions and yet overlapping to collaboratively direct the School towards its DEI goals. The overarching roles of the Councils are to (1) provide a voice to the members of our community at the grassroots; (2) act as change agents for and within the School and (3) help institutionalize practices that support and accelerate DEI initiatives. 

DEI Advisory Council Members:

This council acts as an ear to the ground and has a finger on the community's pulse to: Identify inclusion needs, share resources with the broader community, suggest programming, and be a local advocate.  

  • Amy Balsom, Senior Associate Dean for Finance and Administration
  • Lupe Carrillo and Isabel Carrera Zamanillo, DEI office staff 
  • Alyssa Ferree, Assistant Dean for student services
  • Paula Welander, Jef Caers, Sonia Tikoo, Rodolfo Dirzo, Ines Azevedo, Page Chamberlain, Associate Chairs for Diversity and Inclusion (ACDI) faculty
  • Pedro Monarrez, Postdoc DEI liaison
  • Alexis Wilson and Bianca Santos, DEI student liaisons
  • Amina Ly, Student DEI leader representative
  • Lijing Wang, Student DEI leader representative
  • Matthew Lees, Student DEI leader representative
  • Fola Ayoola, Student DEI leader representative
  • Jonelle Whiting and Joanna Sun, Student services officer staff representatives
  • Mynor Aragon (Development) and Kassie Sharp (Web), Staff DEI representatives
  • Sibyl Diver, Earth Systems program DEI council liaison
  • Bhe Balde, Change Leadership for Sustainability Program liaison
  • Alumni: TBD 

DEI Governance Council Members:

This council implements the mission and values of the DEI action plan and engages with advisory council to: Track progress & metrics, allocate resources, determine awards, uphold Respectful and Inclusive Behavior policy.

  • Stephan Graham, Dean
  • Tiziana Vanorio, Senior Associate Dean for Educational Affairs 
  • Lupe Carrillo and Isabel Carrera Zamanillo, DEI office staff 
  • Amy Balsom, Senior Associate Dean for Finance and Administration
  • Sue Crutcher, Associate Dean for Human Resources and Faculty Affairs
  • Alyssa Ferree, Assistant Dean for Student Services
  • Scott Fendorf, Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs 
  • Jonathan Payne, Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs
  • Page Chamberlain, ACDI chair

Meet our Team

Profile image for Guadalupe Carrillo

Guadalupe Carrillo

Director of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion


Isabel Carrera Zamanillo

Assistant Director for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion


Lauren Abrahams

Student Coordinator

Emma Kane

Emma Kane

Student Coordinator

Associate Chairs for Diversity and Inclusion (ACDI)

Paula Welander

Paula Welander

Associate Professor Earth Systems Science

Profile image for Rodolfo Dirzo

Rodolfo Dirzo

Professor EIPIER and Biology

Jef Caers

Jef Caers

Professor Geological Sciences

Profile image for Inês Azevedo

Inês Azevedo

Associate Professor Energy Resources Engineering

Profile image for Sonia Tikoo-Schantz

Sonia Tikoo-Schantz

Assistant Professor Geophysics

More faculty DEI leaders

Profile image for Page Chamberlain
Professor of Geological Sciences

Page Chamberlain

ACDI chair, Stanford's principal investigator for the NSF Research University Alliance

Profile image for Greg Beroza
Professor of Geophysics

Greg Beroza

IDEAL faculty representative

DEI Liaisons

A program to support leader students and postdoctoral researchers to expand DEI opportunities in their departments/programs.

Navigate to DEI Liaisons
IconsList of icons used on the sitemaillinkedindouble carrot leftarrow leftdouble carrotplayerinstagramclosecarrotquotefacebooktwitterplusminussearchmenuarrowcloudclock