Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Skip to content Skip to navigation

PhD Students

A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
K
L
M
N
O
R
S
T
U
W
Photo Name Current Research Contact
Profile Image for Garrett Adler Garrett Adler

Garrett is interested in better understanding connections between environmental variability (and change) and human security. In particular, he is interested in exploring relationships between climate variability and conflict, and hopes to better identify some of the mechanisms that link these phenomena together.

gadler7@stanford.edu
Profile Image for Christa Anderson Christa Anderson

Christa's research interests are in forest management and conservation in sub saharan Africa and the Peruvian Amazon.

andersn@stanford.edu
Profile Image for Ronan Arthur Ronan Arthur rarthur@stanford.edu
Profile Image for Whitney Bagge Whitney Bagge wbagge@stanford.edu
Profile Image for Elinor Benami Elinor Benami Examining how public and private governance influence agricultural production elinor@stanford.edu
Profile Image for Laura Bloomfield Laura Bloomfield

Laura studies how land-use changes facilitate interactions between people and wildlife affecting infectious disease emergence. She currently focuses on the spatial dispersion and transmission of zoonotic and vector-borne diseases along and between human and non-human primate networks.

Profile Image for Cassandra Brooks Cassandra Brooks

Cassandra studies marine protection in the Antarctic, trying to better understand ocean governance of our common pool resources on an international scale.

cbrooks1@stanford.edu
Profile Image for Nina Brooks Nina Brooks

Nina’s research interests focus on environmental health problems in developing countries. She is interested in understanding adoption of environmental health interventions and designing and implementing rigorous impact evaluations of those interventions.

nbrooks2@stanford.edu
Profile Image for Jeremy Carl Jeremy Carl

Jeremy is studying the environmental, geopolitical, and economic aspects of energy development and policy, with a particular focus on China and India.


carljc@stanford.edu
Marissa Childs marissac@stanford.edu
Profile Image for Joann de Zegher Joann de Zegher

Joann studies sustainable sourcing in global supply chains.

Y2E2 Suite 226
dezegher@stanford.edu
Profile Image for Rachel Engstrand Rachel Engstrand

Rachel studies the social and environmental drivers and consequences of land use in the Peruvian Amazon.

rce212@stanford.edu
Profile Image for Jenna Forsyth Jenna Forsyth jforsyth@stanford.edu
Profile Image for David Gonzalez David Gonzalez

David studies population health and exposure sciences in a global health context. His research interests include the etiology of adverse health outcomes associated with climate change and exposure to ambient air pollution. He also studies artisanal mining, mercury contamination, and associated public health risks in Mexico and the Peruvian Amazon.

david.gonzalez@stanford.edu
Profile Image for Kristen Marie Green Kristen Marie Green

Kristen's research interests are sustainable marine resource planning for Alaskan communities. She seeks to understand how communities that are highly dependent on coastal resources will adapt and maintain resiliency in the face of climate change.

kmgreen@stanford.edu
Profile Image for Emily Grubert Emily Grubert

Emily studies energy fuel cycles, focusing on integrating knowledge about various environmental and social impacts of fuel extraction, use, and disposal to aid decision makers at a local level using life cycle assessment, textual analysis, surveys, and multicriteria decision analysis.

Y2E2 226
gruberte@stanford.edu
Profile Image for Michael Harris Michael Harris

Michael hopes to identify how ecosystem services and environmental health indicators are affected by sanitation infrastructure in development scenarios as a way to push the focus beyond that of household-level sanitation.

mrharris@stanford.edu
Profile Image for Miyuki Hino Miyuki Hino

Miyuki studies climate change risks and adaptation decisions, with a particular focus on the socioeconomic drivers of transformational adaptation.

mhino@stanford.edu
Profile Image for Hajin Kim Hajin Kim

Hajin's research focuses on international trade and the environment.

hkim430@stanford.edu
Profile Image for Anna Lee Anna Lee

Anna's research interests are how people learn about and make decisions related to food and waste.

aslee07@stanford.edu
Profile image for Staci Lewis Staci Lewis

Staci is interested in the impacts of land-use change on coral reef ecosystem services, and the transformation of governance regimes towards adaptive management of marine and coastal resources. Her work is based in the Republic of Palau, an island nation in Micronesia, where she is studying the emergence of watershed management and the sedimentation impacts on coral reefs in two watershed systems that have experienced modern increase in land development.

Y2E2, room 226
slewis13@stanford.edu
Profile Image for Andrea Lund Andrea Lund

Andrea's research interests are in the ecology and epidemiology of infectious disease. Her work focuses particularly on the social and environmental determinants of schistosomiasis, a parasitic disease that infects humans through direct contact with freshwater.

alund2@stanford.edu
Profile Image for Casey Maue Casey Maue cmaue@stanford.edu
Kelley McKanna kcph@stanford.edu
Profile Image for Rebecca Niemiec Rebecca Niemiec

Becky is interested in the human dimensions of biodiversity conservation and invasive species management. Her dissertation research focuses on how to motivate diverse private landowners to engage in invasive species control efforts to achieve landscape-scale conservation benefits.

rniemiec@stanford.edu
Profile Image for L. Katrina ole-MoiYoi L. Katrina ole-MoiYoi

At the heart of Katrina's work is a desire to improve long-term food security in developing countries through ecologically-sound policies in the fisheries sector.

kmoiyoi@stanford.edu
Profile Image for Chikara Onda Chikara Onda

Chikara studies the distributional impacts of climate and clean energy policies. In particular, he is interested in using insights from labor economics to to study the impact of such policies on low-income households, both using econometric techniques as well as simulation using energy–economy models.

conda@stanford.edu
Profile Image for Michael Ovadia Michael Ovadia

Michael studies the psychological and sociological issues underpinning the sharing economy. He employs a mixed methods approach of ethnography, field experiments, and large dataset analysis.

Profile Image for Nathan Ratledge Nathan Ratledge ratledge@stanford.edu
Profile Image for Sudatta Ray Sudatta Ray

Sudatta studies the impacts that different energy systems have on resources and food security. Her work aims to inform developing country policymakers in their decisions on providing access to energy.

sudatta.ray@stanford.edu
Profile Image for Francisca Santana Francisca Santana

Francisca studies social ecological systems of coastal regions, with a focus on current and historical trends in conservation, governance and resource use in the Gulf of Mexico.

fsantana@stanford.edu
Profile Image for Samy Sekar Samy Sekar

Samy is interested in working at the intersection of climate change, agriculture, and development. She hopes to study the barriers to simultaneously increasing agricultural production and improving agricultural sustainability and to identify the most successful strategies to breaking down those barriers.

ssekar@stanford.edu
Profile Image for Allison Sherris Allison Sherris

Allison's research interests include the geochemistry of heavy metal fate and transport, as well as the public health impacts of exposure to inorganic contaminants in soil, surface water, and groundwater.

asherris@stanford.edu
Profile image for Anne Siders Anne Siders

Siders studies the role of governance and institutional design in the integration of climate change adaptation and disaster risk mitigation in the coastal built environment. Her research is geographically diverse, including Europe, coastal megacities, the Arctic, and South East Asia. Her work focuses on providing information, tools, and processes that aid decision-makers in building international coastal resilience.

Washington DC
617.233.5749
siders@stanford.edu
Profile Image for Andy Stock Andy Stock

Andy is a geoinformation scientist and coastal geographer. He studies the methods, concepts and rhetoric around marine human impact mapping and other assessments of the state of nature.

Profile Image for Briana Swette Briana Swette bswette@stanford.edu
Profile Image for Shannon Swanson Shannon Swanson

Shannon studies artisanal fishing communities in small island nations in South East Asia and Oceania and how they are affected by tourism, marine protected areas, conflict, social learning networks, and governance structures. She is also interested in developing new qualitative methods of research using film and photography.

shanswan@stanford.edu
Profile Image for Tannis Thorlakson Tannis Thorlakson

Tannis examines food retailers and manufacturers' role in improving social and environmental outcomes in their agricultural supply chains.

thorlaks@stanford.edu
Profile Image for Jose Urteaga Jose Urteaga

Jose Urteaga research centers on the governance and sustainable management of marine natural resources in developing countries. Particularly he is interested in understanding how social and institutional arrangements interact to manage diverse habitats and species and how these arrangements are affected by contextual and historical factors. Currently, he is focusing on sea turtle conservation in Nicaragua and El Salvador.

jurteaga@stanford.edu
Profile Image for Jennifer Wang Jennifer Wang

Jennifer's research interests address human behaviour change in the context of climate change, with the ultimate aim of shifting normative practices and paradigms within public policy, business, and individual behaviour to effectively account for the impacts and risks of climate change and environmental sustainability.

jw56@stanford.edu
Profile Image for Philip Womble Philip Womble

Philip studies legal and water supply planning strategies that use water markets to help communities and ecosystems adapt to drought and climate change.

pjwomble@stanford.edu