Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Skip to content Skip to navigation

People

Name Title Current Research Contact
Khalid Aziz Otto N. Miller Professor in the School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences, Emeritus

Optimization and reservoir Simulation.

68 Green Earth Scien
(650)723-9116
aziz@stanford.edu
Ilenia Battiato Assistant Professor of Energy Resources Engineering

Energy and environment (battery systems; superhydrophobicity and drag reduction; carbon sequestration); multiscale, mesoscale and hybrid simulations (multiphase and reactive transport processes); effective medium theories; perturbation methods, homogenization and upscaling.

ibattiat@stanford.edu
Sally Benson Director, Precourt Institute for Energy and Professor of Energy Resources Engineering and Senior Fellow at the Precourt Institute for Energy

My research is focused on reducing the risks of climate change by developing energy supplies with low carbon emissions. Students and post-doctoral fellows in my research group work on carbon dioxide storage, energy systems analysis, and pathways for transitioning to a low-carbon energy system.

Yang and Yamazaki Environment and Energy Bldg.
(650) 725-0358
smbenson@stanford.edu
Adam Brandt Assistant Professor of Energy Resources Engineering

Greenhouse gas emissions, energy systems optimization, mathematical modeling of resource depletion, life cycle analysis

066 Green Earth Sciences Building
(650) 724-8251
abrandt@stanford.edu
Alan Burnham Adjunct Professor, Energy Resources Engineering
Louis Castanier Lecturer, Energy Resources Engineering 80C Green Earth Scie
(650) 723-0691, (650) 723-2223
louisc@stanford.edu
Birol Dindoruk Adjunct Professor, Department of Energy Resources Engineering - Energy Resources Engineering
Louis Durlofsky Otto N. Miller Professor in Earth Sciences

General reservoir simulation, optimization, reduced-order modeling, upscaling, flow in fractured systems, history matching, CO2 sequestration, energy systems optimization

64 Green Earth Sciences Building
(650) 723-4142, (650) 725-9835
lou@stanford.edu
Margot Gerritsen Associate Professor of Energy Resources Engineering, Director of the Institute for Computational & Mathematical Engineering, with courtesy appointment in Mechanical Engineering and Civil and Environmental Engineering

I specialize in renewable and fossil energy production. I am also active in coastal ocean dynamics and yacht design, as well as several areas in computational mathematics including search algorithm design and matrix computations.

GESB 088, M10 Huang
(650) 725-3542, (650) 725-2727
margot.gerritsen@stanford.edu
Stephan Graham Welton Joseph and Maud L'Anphere Crook Professor and Professor, by courtesy, of Geophysics and of Energy Resource Engineering

Sedimentary basin analysis; petroleum geology

Building 320
(650) 723-0507, (650) 723-0847
stephan.graham@stanford.edu
Thomas Hewett Professor of Energy Resources Engineering, Emeritus (650) 723-9476
Thomasahewett@Gmail.com
Roland Horne Thomas Davies Barrow Professor in the School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences and Senior Fellow at the Precourt Institute for Energy

Well Testing, Optimisation and Geothermal Reservoir Engineering

098 Green Earth Sci
(650) 723-9595, (650) 725-9835
Roland.Horne@stanford.edu
Kurt House Visiting Professor, Energy Resources Engineering
Andre Journel The Donald and Donald M. Steel Professor of Earth Sciences, Emeritus

Non-parametric, non-Gaussian Geostatistics, Stochastic Simulation, Training image-based simulation

GREEN EARTH SCI 339
(650) 723-8469
journel@stanford.edu
Warren Kourt Adjunct Professor, Energy Resources Engineering wpkourt@aol.com
Anthony Kovscek Keleen and Carlton Beal Professor in Energy Resources Engineering

I am interested in the recovery of unconventional hydrocarbon resources and mitigating carbon emissions from fossil fuels via geological sequestration of greenhouse gases. My research group and I examine the physics of flow through porous media at length scales that vary from the pore to the laboratory to the reservoir.

Department of Energy Resources Engineering
(650) 723-1218
kovscek@stanford.edu
Alexandre Lapene
Robert Lindblom Adjunct Professor, Energy Resources Engineering Department of Petroleum Engineering
rglgeo@aol.com
Stuart Angus Macmillan Adjunct Professor, Department of Energy Resources Engineering - Energy Resources Engineering smacmillan@stanford.edu
Mark McClure Adjunct Professor, Energy Resources Engineering mcclure@stanford.edu
Tapan Mukerji Associate Professor (Research) of Energy Resources Engineering

My students and I use theoretical, computational, and statistical models, to discover and understand fundamental relations between geophysical data and subsurface properties, to quantify uncertainty in our geomodels, and to address value of information for decision making under uncertainty.

(650) 721-1263
mukerji@stanford.edu
Simona Onori Assistant Professor of Energy Resources Engineering

Modeling, control and optimization of dynamic systems;
Model-based control in advanced propulsion systems;
Energy management control and optimization in HEVs and PHEVs;
Energy storage systems- Li-ion and PbA batteries, Supercapacitors;
Battery aging modeling, state of health estimation and life prediction for control;
Damage degradation modeling in interconnected systems

sonori@stanford.edu
Franklin M. ("Lynn") Orr, Jr. Keleen and Carlton Beal Professor in Energy Resources Engineering, Emeritus Department of Energy Resources Engineering
(650) 497-9484
fmorr@stanford.edu
Kiran Pande Adjunct Professor, Energy Resources Engineering kkpande@stanford.edu
Kozo Sato Cox Visiting Professor, Energy Resources Engineering sato@frcer.t.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Richard Sears Professor of the Practice, Energy Resources Engineering Green Earth Sciences 023
rasears@stanford.edu
Anna Suzuki
Daniel Tartakovsky Professor of Energy Resources Engineering

Environmental fluid mechanics, Applied and computational mathematics, Biomedical modeling.

367 Panama Street
(650) 498-8791
tartakovsky@stanford.edu
Hamdi Tchelepi Professor of Energy Resources Engineering

Current research activities include: (1) modeling unstable miscible and immiscible flows in heterogeneous formations, (2) developing multiscale formulations and scalable linear/nonlinear solution algorithms for multiphase flow in large-scale subsurface systems, and (3) developing stochastic approaches for quantifying the uncertainty associated with predictions of subsurface flow performance.

Energy Resources Engineering
(650) 723-9476
tchelepi@stanford.edu
Marco Thiele Adjunct Professor, Energy Resources Engineering Green Earth Science Bldg - Rm 088
thiele@stanford.edu