Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Skip to content Skip to navigation

People

Name Title Current Research Contact
Ayaka Abe Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
aabe@stanford.edu
Motaz Abu AlSaud Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering motaz@stanford.edu
Mustafa Al Ibrahim Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering I am interested in statistical integration of data at different scales. (720) 468-3881
malibrah@stanford.edu
Abdullah Alakeely Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 334-7996
alakeeaa@stanford.edu
Ammar Alali Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
ammara@stanford.edu
Nooreddeen Albokhari Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering nooor@stanford.edu
Salem Aldousary Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering salems1@stanford.edu
Hamza Aljamaan Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering aljamaan@stanford.edu
Muhammad Almajid Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering majimm0a@stanford.edu
Khalid Alnoaimi Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Usua Amanam Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering

Fuel optimization; Thermal induced nanoparticle delivery

uamanam@stanford.edu
Justin Howard Appleby Undergraduate, Civil and Environmental Engineering justapp@stanford.edu
Orhun Aydin Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Ejeong Baik Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering ebaik@stanford.edu
Praveen Bains Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
jbakarji University Student Department of Energy Resources Engineering Graduate jbakarji@stanford.edu
Alexander Bakay Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
Yasmin Bashirova University Student Department of Energy Resources Engineering Undergraduate yasminb@stanford.edu
Malcolm Bean Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Philip Brodrick Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Christian Brown Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering csbrown@stanford.edu
Grace Michele Busse Undergraduate, Department of Energy Resources Engineering gbusse@stanford.edu
Emmet Caulfield Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 725-0849
Carla Kathryn Co Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Michael Connolly Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Matthias Cremon Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Jacques de Chalendar Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Focus on the stability of scCO2 bubbles in the context of CO2 storage jdechale@stanford.edu
Amir Hossein Delgoshaie Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering

I study models for flow in porous media. In particular, I am interested in the class of nonlocal models and stochastic models, which I believe are relevant for simplifying the workflow for reservoir simulation. The fact that these models can also be used in multiple scales makes them an even better candidate for modeling subsurface flow.

amirdel@stanford.edu
Geetartha Dutta Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering

My research is on the value of information (VOI) of time-lapse seismic data in the context of making reservoir development decisions, and it is inter-disciplinary in nature, integrating decision analysis, reservoir engineering, geostatistics and rock physics. I think it is important to bridge the gap between these different fields to attain optimum reservoir development and management.

gdutta@stanford.edu
Youssef Ekady Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering yelkady@stanford.edu
Jacob Englander Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Soheil Esmaeilzadeh Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
soes@stanford.edu
Olga Fuks Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering ofuks@stanford.edu
Xuhua Gao Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering xuhuag@stanford.edu
Mehrdad Gharib Shirangi Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering GESB 125
mehr@stanford.edu
Guenther Glatz Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering

I am part of the Stanford Total Enhanced Modeling of Source Rock (STEMS) project working on a novel triaxial, high pressure/high temperature, X-ray transparent core holder for in-situ monitoring and visualization of the geomechanics of rocks under extreme reservoir conditions.

gglatz@stanford.edu
Ognjen Grujic Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Kelly Guan Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Halldora Gudmundsdottir Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering halldora@stanford.edu
Haoli Guo Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering haoliguo@stanford.edu
Francois Hamon Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering

Efficient nonlinear solvers for the simulation of multiphase flow in porous media

fhamon@stanford.edu
Daniel Hatchell Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering hatchell@stanford.edu
Jason Hu Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering jhu7@stanford.edu
Renfeng Jiang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering

Currently, my research focuses on the enhanced oil recovery using nano-particles and multiphase flow in porous media.

rfjiang@stanford.edu
Rui (Forest) Jiang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering

My PhD research is about the analysis and development of Reduced-Order Modeling methods (ROM).
Previously, I did analysis and application of TPWL (trajectory piecewise linearization, one type of ROM methods) method in reservoir simulation. I was using mathematical perspective and computational experiments to improve this method.
Lately, there is a shift towards another type of ROM method, POD-DEIM method.

forestj@stanford.edu
Su Jiang Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
sujiang@stanford.edu
Larry Zhaoyang Jin Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Reduce Order Modeling and It's Application in Carbon Sequestration and CO2-EOR zjin@stanford.edu
Ouassim Khebzegga Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering ouassimk@stanford.edu
Yong Do Kim Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Sergey Klevtsov Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering

I'm working on linear solver framework in Stanford's reservoir simulator (AD-GPRS). More broadly, I'm interested in efficient solution/preconditioning strategies and parallel algorithms in subsurface flow modeling.

klevtsov@stanford.edu
Kuy Hun Koh Yoo Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering kohykh@stanford.edu
Filippos Kostakis Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
filippk@stanford.edu
Karine Levonyan Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Jiawei Li Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
jiaweili@stanford.edu
Lewis Li Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering

Addressing the Propogation of Seismic Image Uncertainty Through the Reservoir Forecasting Process.

lewisli@stanford.edu
Peipei Li Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering peipei@stanford.edu
Yaxin Li Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering yaxinl@stanford.edu
Yimin Liu Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
David Thomas McColl University Student Management Science and Engineering Undergraduate dmccoll@stanford.edu
JĂșlio Hoffimann Mendes Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering

I am studying the connections that exist between physical processes at the surface of the Earth and the resulting statistical distribution of rock properties at the subsurface.

juliohm@stanford.edu
Ahmed Mimouna Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering amimouna@stanford.edu
Manohar Mogadali Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering manoharm@stanford.edu
Erik Nesvold Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 269-2131
nesvold@stanford.edu
Hailun (Cindy) Ni Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering

I work on characterizing CO2 capillary heterogeneity and residual trapping through macroscopic percolation simulation.

Jack Norbeck Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering

My research focuses on understanding physical mechanisms that cause injection-triggered seismicity. I am designing engineering strategies to mitigate triggered seismicity by leveraging knowledge of the coupled processes of subsurface fluid flow, geomechanics, and earthquake dynamics.

I am also interested in petroleum and geothermal reservoir geomechanics, especially as applied to reservoir stimulation technologies.

website: stanford.edu/~jnorbeck
jnorbeck@stanford.edu
Olufolake Ogunbanwo Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Dante Orta Aleman Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering

His current research focuses in the use of machine-learning models for automatic interpretation of temperature profiles in Oil & Gas wells.

(650) 723-1831
Jihoon Park Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering jhpark3@stanford.edu
Veena Patel Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering veenazw@stanford.edu
Katherine Pfleeger Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering kpfleege@stanford.edu
Ahinoam Pollack Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Mitchell B51
ahinoamp@stanford.edu
Anshuman Pradhan Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering pradhan1@stanford.edu
Grecia Ramirez-Ovalle Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 725-2718
greciaro@stanford.edu
Ruslan Iskhakov Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering iskhakov@stanford.edu
Tita Ristanto Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
ristanto@stanford.edu
Daniel Roda-Stuart Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering drodastu@stanford.edu
Dominik Schunack University Student Civil and Environmental Engineering Graduate schunack@stanford.edu
Wen Song Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering

My research interests involve developing and using microfluidic platforms to visualize pore-scale flow phenomena relevant to reservoir engineering. Currently, I am conducting experiments to study directly the pore-scale dynamics in (1) low salinity waterflooding for enhanced oil recovery and (2) reactive transport through carbonate formations.

wensong@stanford.edu
Ruixiao Sun Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering ruixiaos@stanford.edu
Wenyue Sun Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering wenyue@stanford.edu
Yuchi Sun Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering

My main focus is on prediction of short-term solar irradiation based on statistical learning and computer vision. Improved prediction accuracy is beneficial for both the grid operators to balance the grid, and the utility to bid for short-term market. Other interest include carbon storage and sequestration,energy systems optimization, and greenhouse gas mitigation.

yuchi@stanford.edu
Meng Tang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering mengtang@stanford.edu
Holger Teichgraeber Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 725-0851
hteich@stanford.edu
Srinikaeth Thirugnana Sambandam Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering (650) 723-1831
nikaeth@stanford.edu
Chuan Tian Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering chuant@stanford.edu
Sophie Trastour Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering Green Earth Sciences
(617) 955-4214
sophietr@stanford.edu
Sumeet Trehan Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering strehan@stanford.edu
Vinay Tripathi M.S. Student, Department of Energy Resources Engineering
Daniel Ullmann de Brito Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering dubrito@stanford.edu
Gregory Von Wald Masters Student in Energy Resources Engineering gvonwald@stanford.edu
Beibei Wang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering GESB 121
beibeiw@stanford.edu
Jingfan Wang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering jingfan@stanford.edu
Yifan Wang Ph.D. Student in Mechanical Engineering

Machine Learning Classification for the Atomic Events in Metallic Glass Materials;
Molecular Dynamics Simulation for the Nano-indentation of Al-Mg alloy;
Stress-Induced Cross Slip Plane behavior in Metals

Gege Wen University Student Civil and Environmental Engineering Graduate (650) 723-1831
gegewen@stanford.edu
Zhi Yang Wong Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering zhiyangw@stanford.edu
Guang Yang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering gyang2@stanford.edu
Timothy Yeo Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering timyeo@stanford.edu
Timothy Yeskoo Ph.D. Student in Civil and Environmental Engineering tyeskoo@stanford.edu
Mengyao Yuan Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering
Wonjin Yun Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Chemical engineering, Enhance Oil Recovery, Image Processing, CFD simulation
Christopher Zahasky Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering Understanding risks to storage security of geologically sequestered CO2 GESB 357
zahas002@gmail.com
Markus Zechner Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering mzechner@stanford.edu
Yuran Zhang Ph.D. Student in Energy Resources Engineering yuranz4@stanford.edu